David Rumsey Historical Map Collection focuses on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials and includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, and manuscript maps.
A collection of historical fire insurance maps from the Sanborn Map Company. In the Geo edition, you can browse to locations or search by address and GPS coordinates. Provides detailed information about New York and New Jersey locations. Details include information such as street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, the size and shape and construction materials, and much more. Textual information includes construction details, ownership and building use.
Mapping Inequality introduces viewer to the records of the Home Owners' Loan Corporation on a scale that is unprecedented. Here you can browse more than 150 interactive maps and thousands of "area descriptions." These materials afford an extraordinary view of the contours of wealth and racial inequality in Depression-era American cities and insights into discriminatory policies and practices that so profoundly shaped cities that we feel their legacy to this day.
This tool digitally overlays historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. You can browse already rectified maps.
Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division/New York Public Library (NYPL): This is one of the world's premier map collections in terms of size, scope, unique holdings, diversity and intensity of use. Established in 1898, holdings include more than 433,000 sheet maps and 20,000 books and atlases published between the 15th and 21st centuries. The collections range from the global to the local scale and support the learning and research needs of a wide variety of users. Here are some local collections:
This is from a guide by GIS/Metadata Librarian Eric Glass that highlights resources available from the Columbia University Libraries as well as from other sources. "The effort here is to identify resources that are already in an acceptable format for use in a GIS application."
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.