Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AHIS 3959: Art History Senior Research Seminar

This guide supports the thesis course for art history

Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Meredith Wisner
She/Her
Contact:
Meredith Wisner
Research & Instruction Librarian for the Arts
Office: 306 Milstein

Mon & Tues: Zoom only
Wed - Fri: In-person/Zoom
212.854.7652
Website

Get an NYPL Card!

NYPL library cards

As a Barnard student you can sign up for New York Public Library (NYPL) card! They're free!

  • Online (You’ll need to stop by a branch to get the actual card)
  • At any NYPL branch (bring your student ID)
  • Or with a Barnard Personal Librarian! PLs all have NYPL cards in our offices (your card won’t be active for about a week)

The NYPL has more than 6 million items circulating, including books, e-books, audiobooks, music, and movies. Thank you to our friends at the George Bruce branch for working with us to make on-campus card signups happen! The NYPL has 92 locations in Manhattan, the Bronx, and Staten Island. The closest branches to Barnard are the Morningside Heights and George Bruce branches.

Using this Guide

Image from the Barnard Archives

Welcome to the research guide for Senior Seminar in Art History

Here you will find resources to help you with your architecture research. Use the side navigation to find:

  • Resources to find background information on your topic
  • Places to find books in print and online
  • Databases for locating scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles, reviews, and newspaper articles
  • Primary sources for doing archival research
  • Databases for finding high-quality and reliable images
  • Information for citing your sources and writing in art history

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, you can make an appointment by clicking on the "Schedule Appointment button on the left, or email me at mwisner@barnard.edu.
 

Image: [detail] Art History Class at Metropolitan Museum with Professor Julius Held, 1962. Photograph. Barnard College Archives. http://digitalcollections.barnard.edu/islandora/object/islandora:1760.

General Reference Resources for Art History

Background resources in art history

Zotero

What is Zotero?

Zotero: Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collection, organize, cite and share research. It'll change your life! Once you've downloaded the Zotero software and browser connector, you will be able to save books you find in the catalog, resource you spot on the web, and even ingest pdfs of article - complete with all their citation information - and store them in one easy to organize space. 

Zotero Tips

  • Use Zotero to organize your research, add annotations to resources, and to create bibliographies and footnotes
  • Download Zotero by going to Zotero.org. Remember to download the software and preferred browser plugin
  • Set the citation style by selecting "Zotero" in the top navigation of your computer and then "Preferences"
  • Use the Zotero icon in your browser to save resources you find in CLIO (or other library catalogs) and on the web
  • Create bibliographies by dragging and dropping selected items
  • Create footnotes by dragging and dropping while holding the shift button (Mac) or right clicking (PC) on the desired resource

Zotero 6 Videos