If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, you can make an appointment by clicking on the "Schedule Appointment button on the left, or email me at mwisner@barnard.edu.
[image] Portrait of a Young Woman with Stylus, Fresco, 55-79 AD. National Archaeological Museum of Naples. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Portrait_d%27une_jeune_femme,_dite_Sappho.jpg.
Classics & Ancient Studies include a wide range of interdisciplinary topics. The scope of this guide is aligned with how the academic department at Barnard approaches it. While the subject focuses on the Mediterranean and Ancient Near East, topics included in the study of Classics & Ancient Studies consist of language, literature, mythology, material culture, history, religion, art history, philosophy, political theory, law, film, comparative literature, medieval studies, and gender studies.
Since the Classics & Ancient Studies program at Barnard includes concentrations in certain disciplines, looking at guides within art history, history, literature, philosophy, romance languages and cultures, music, or religion can also be helpful.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
by
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, linguistics, literary studies, epigraphy, papyrology, history, art history, religion, economics, ecology, geomorphology, and the life sciences.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
by
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt
by
The Cambridge Ancient History
by
The present volume begins with an account of what is known about the remotest geological ages and comprises chapters on the different kinds of evidence concerning man and his physical environment up to the end of the Predynastic Period in Egypt and the parallel stages of development in Mesopotamia, Persia, Anatolia, Palestine, Cyprus, Greece and the Islands. To trace the history of these very early times it is necessary to rely chiefly on material remains, since writing had not then been invented. The text offers a setting against which the cultural progress of the historical epoch can be viewed. Archaeological investigation may be expected to bring to light more evidence to fill some of the present gaps in our knowledge, but already it is clear that the gulf between historical and prehistorical times in much of the ancient world is narrower than was once supposed.
Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic
by
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic offers a diversity of perspectives to explore how differing approaches and methodologies can contribute to a greater understanding of the formation of the Roman Republic. Brings together the experiences and ideas of archaeologists from around the world, with multiple backgrounds and areas of interest Offers a vibrant exploration of the ways in which archaeological methods can be used to explore different elements of the Roman Republican period Demonstrates that the Republic was not formed in a vacuum, but was influenced by non-Latin-speaking cultures from throughout the Mediterranean region.
Oxford Studies in Ancient Philosophy
by
Oxford Studies in Ancient Philosophy is a volume of original articles on all aspects of ancient philosophy. The articles may be of substantial length, and include critical notices of major books. OSAP is now published twice yearly, in both hardback and paperback.
The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology
by
Archaeology is a vast subject - it is the study of human society everywhere in the world, from distant human origins 3-4 million years ago up to the present day. The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology brings together 35 authors - all specialists in their own fields - to explain what archaeologyis really about. This is one of the most comprehensive treatments of the subject and of the key debates ever attempted. It is designed to open up the world of archaeology to non-specialists and to provide an essential starting point for those who want to pursue particular topics in more depth.
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
by
This comprehensive, fully illustrated Companion answers the need for an in-depth archaeology reference that provides authoritative coverage of this complex and interdisciplinary field. The work brings together the myriad strands and the great temporal and spatial breadth of the field into two thematically organized volumes. In twenty-six authoritative and clearly-written essays, this Companion explores the origins, aims, methods and problems of archaeology. Each essay is written by a scholar of international standing and illustrations complement the text.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East
by
Analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions--Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Ranging from prehistoric times up to the early centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. It includes 1,125 alphabetically arranged entries on sites, languages, material culture, archaeological methods, organizations and institutions, and major excavators and scholars of the field. This one-of-a-kind, accessibly written reference brings new breadth to the study of archaeology in the biblical world, making it a valuable resource not only to scholars and students of archaeology, but also to those with an interest in ancient art and architecture, languages, history, and religion.