LibGuides: Film Studies: Data and Statistics

Box Office Data

In Newspapers and Magazines

The major newspapers also publish(ed) weekly chart for box office information. Usually on Mondays, you will find a short box office list. Then on Tuesdays, you will find a longer list usually located in the Arts/Entertainment/People sections of the papers.

Los Angeles Times
Access to both historical and present issues of the LA Times
New York Times
Contains issues of the New York Times from 1857 to present
Variety
Includes reviews and box office numbers from 1905 to present
Boxoffice Pro
Journal of Box office data from 2011 to present

In Databases

Business Source Complete
Includes box office, demographics, audience attendance, etc.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.

Online

The Futon Critic
Daily and weekly numbers on television shows
Nielsen Reports
Nielsen ratings measure the popularity of American television programs. Developed by Nielsen Media Research, the ratings are not qualitative evaluations of how much a program is "liked," but, instead, how many many people watched. In essence, Nielsen ratings help determine the audience size and composition of television programming.
Box Office Mojo
Owned/operated by IMDb, contains theater counts, audience reports, and more
The Numbers
(contains ads) Weekly box office charts
Zap2It
Weekly, season, and cable ratings.
Television Bureau of Advertising
Ratings and ad revenue numbers are available under Research Central. (Some sections are not available.)

Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC)

Located on the first floor of the Milstein Center for Teaching & Learning in room 102, the Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC) is available for the Barnard/Columbia community as a resources for working with data and statistics. During the semester, the ERC offers walk-in hours. Appointments can be set up by emailing the ERC.

Empirical reasoning is the process of thinking critically about organizing, analyzing, and visualizing qualitative, quantitative, and/or geospatial data.

The ERC provides:

Training and Technical Assistance
- The ERC offers training for statistical analysis, textual analysis, and geographical information systems software. We support both Macs and PCs.
Individual Guidance
- The ERC can help individuals through each step of the research process from basic research design and formulating a hypothesis to data analysis and visualization to interpreting and presenting results.
Workshops
- Some for general use of software, some are tailored specifically for classes held at Barnard. Upcoming and past workshops can be viewed at the ERC site.
Software tutorials
- Freely available online. Software is available on all Barnard Library computers.

Information on this page courtesy the ERC website.