Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Studies

This guide is intended to support research for film and media studies

Film Resources in NYC

The Paley Center for Media

Located on West 52nd street between Fifth and Sixth aves, the Paley Center's permanent media collection contains over 160,000 television and radio programs and advertisements, available both in New York and Los Angeles. The online database offers synopses, along with production credits for the programs. Admission to the Paley Center is free, and includes 1.5 hours of accessing the Paley Archive.

New York Public Library Theatre on Film & Tape Archive (NYPL TOFT)

Located at the Lincoln Center, NYPL's Library for the Performing Arts (LPA) on West 66th street.

Since 1970, the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive (TOFT) has preserved live theatrical productions and documented the creative contributions of distinguished artists and legendary figures of the theatre. With the consent and cooperation of the theatrical unions and each production's artistic collaborators, TOFT produces video recordings of Broadway, Off-Broadway, and regional theatre productions as well as dialogues between notable theatre personalities.

These recordings have revolutionized theatre research, ensuring that today's performances will be tomorrow's legacy, available to future generations for study and inspiration. Endowed, in part, by producer Lucille Lortel, TOFT is housed in a state-of-the-art screening room named in her honor. Titles in the collection may be found in the Library's online catalog or by emailing or telephoning TOFT. The Archive is available to theatre professionals, students, or researchers with work or study-related reasons for viewing. Advance appointments are strongly recommended for viewing. Please call (212) 870-1642.

Museum of the Moving Image

Located in Astoria, Queens, at 35th ave and 37th street, the Museum of the Moving Image not only has a series of exhibitions, but also screens over 400 films each year. Screenings and Museum admission both have student discounts. 

Available for free is access to Moving Image Source, a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources. Also has a fantastic research guide.

Barnard Instructional Media & Technology Services (IMATS)

IMATS supports the innovative and effective use of educational technologies such as video production (ranging from cell phone videos to DSLRs to 360/VR video), CourseWorks and Canvas, mapping tools, surveys, and much more. IMS also provides video production services for curriculum and special events. Located on the 2nd floor of the Milstein Center for Teaching and Learning, we have an expansive equipment room that contains an assortment of equipment free to check out by any Barnard or Columbia student -- from video and still cameras to projectors for special events. In addition to equipment training, IMATS provides workshops in Premiere, Final Cut Pro, Illustrator, and Photoshop. To arrange a customized tutorial session, please email imats@barnard.edu.

Barnard's Elsie K. Sloate Media Center

Barnard's home for original media content creation and research. The video production studio, audio recording booth, and post-production computer lab are open to all students, faculty and staff.  We host regular workshops on Friday afternoons, as well as a feminist film series on Monday evenings! We also have special events, such as a speakers from the film industry and new equipment showcases. Our events are open to the entire Barnard and Columbia communities. Film, produce, edit and design your own content in the Milstein Center. Located on the first floor, our Production Studio is equipped with a green screen, curtain track, light grid and audio booth. Next door, our Post-Production Lab has iMac computers, with a full suite of software for video and audio editing - plus tools for digital, 3D, and graphic design. Contact mediacenter@barnard.edu with any questions.

Barnard's Movement Lab

The Movement Lab is a flexible modular space for movement research, exploration, production, collaboration, and interdisciplinary interaction. The Lab’s trans-media function serves to enhance critical thinking and learning through body and brain connection as it seeks to explore emerging trajectories in art science and technology.

Our space can be used for guest workshops and Barnard courses that emphasize the intersection of movement and technology. For example, Keira Heu-jwyn Chang will lead a workshop where participants will play with inexpensive, coin-sized sensors which can be sewn into costumes with conductive thread. Students can explore how to use position, acceleration, light exposure and touch input to control a variety of outputs like LED lights, sound elements, and video. We will also be hosting new courses, like Coding Choreography.