LibGuides: HIST 3788: Gender, Sexuality, and Power in African History: Articles

Strategies for Finding Articles

From a Citation

If you are trying to locate a specific article starting from a citation (ideally, one with the article's title, author(s), place of publication and date of publication), there are a few different ways you might go about your search:

Use CLIO Articles Search to search for the article by title. If the library's subscriptions give access to the article in full text, you should see a link that will lead you to the article.
If the CLIO Articles Search does not lead you to the article, try the CLIO Catalog Search to search for the library's holdings of the periodical in which the article is published. This search will show you both print and digital holdings of journals, magazines, and other serials in which articles are published.
If neither of the above searches leads you to the article you are looking for, try requesting a digital scan of the article using Interlibrary Loan. Make sure that you indicate the title, author, and inclusive page numbers you'll need (Note: You can also request book chapter scans using ILL).

From a Topic/ Question/ Keywords

If you are looking for articles in conversation with a specific topic:

Try CLIO Articles for a really broad/ general search.
Use a database (see below for many relevant examples) to hone in your search within a specific body of literature and/or specific area of publishing.

Finding Articles in Databases

To conduct a broader search for articles across a range of databases, try the CLIO Articles+ Search.

Africa-Wide Information
combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.5 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century
African E-Journals Project
Contains digitized, full-text articles from the following journals: Africa media review, African journal of political economy, African journal of political science, Critical arts, Glendora books supplement, Glendora review, Institute of African Studies research review, Journal of social development in Africa, Pula, Transformation, Utafiti and Zambezia
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Black Studies Center
"A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975."
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is also very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
Index Islamicus
indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia. The database currently contains over 250,000 records covering more than 2,000 journals, and is searchable with 31 key indexes, including author, keyword, journal title, publication date, subject, title and record type.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis. TIP: To narrow down a search to articles published in African Studies and/or History journals, try an Advanced Search with a Journal Filter narrowed down by discipline.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Contains content from more than 210 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in the New York times and the Washington post. Includes approximately 200,000 records with 90,000 from the backfile (up to 1997). Performing Arts Periodicals Database contains indexing from more than 395 journal titles – over 160 of which are available in full text - including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Most records contain an abstract.
ProQuest
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.