HIST 3788: Gender, Sexuality, and Power in African History

With content spanning the 1900s to the early 2000s, Southern African Films and Documentaries offers--for the first time--streaming access to more than a century of African history, politics, and culture. Five film types are represented-- propaganda, newsreels, documentaries, feature films, and interviews. The content supports teaching and research in African studies, film and cinema, history and world culture, race and ethnicity, women's studies, and other areas.

As a colonizer among several European colonizers, the United Kingdom controlled the largest portion of territory in the continent of Africa from the late nineteenth to mid twentieth century. Colonial Regulations required an ‘Annual Blue Book’ to be submitted from each colony to the British Colonial Office. The Blue Book was an attempt to standardise statistical reports, primarily covering economic development as well as demographic, ecclesiastical, and public records.This collection contains Blue Books and other archival material from 13 British colonies and protectorates in Africa compiled during the period 1821-1953.

For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published texts of modern African literature. This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.

gathers digitized sources showing the complex and varied liberation struggles in Southern Africa, with an initial focus on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe

Contains British government files and maps related to the apartheid government of South Africa, spanning 1948-1980.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history. The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program consists of four archives: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I; LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture.

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', each item contains the colonial laws for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes coverage of law in Nigeria (Lagos), 1887-1919.

Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', each item contains the colonial laws for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices.

Includes digitized documents from the National Archives of Great Britain, covering the main years of British colonization of Africa. Features 300 full color maps. Other materials included are reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, and economic analyses.

This collection compiles government reports during the years of British colonization of Gambia. Organized in nine sections: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce and Miscellaneous.

Provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text, full-image documents on widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Content is applicable to research in history, African American studies, women's studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies. Contents include NAACP Papers' Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969; Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) records, 1880-1930; and more.

Full text access to Government Gazettes of South Africa from 1910 to 1993, including all Government Gazettes from 1948 to 1993 as well as most of the Government Gazettes from 1910 to 1947.

Gives digitized access to papers from British colonial rule in Sierra Leone. The reports are divided into nine distinct volumes. These are Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, and Staff Lists and Miscellaneous.

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Gives digitized access to reports from the years of British colonization of Zimbabwe. The documents within the collection are dated between 1897 and 1980, just before Zimbabwe’s independence from Britain in April 1980. Twelve volumes include: volumes include: Administration 1897-1977, Auditor General 1914-1980, Accounting Estimates 1899-1980, Miscellaneous Financial Records 1918-1980, Judicial and Police 1897-1979, Natural Resources 1897-1981, Social Services 1897-1980, Transport and Public Works 1897-1980, Communications and Post Office Savings 1896-1980, Commerce, 1899-1980, Corporations and Boards 1926-1980 and Meteorology, Public Relations and Tourism 1897-1980.

Black South African Magazines brings together over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written and targeted specifically for Black African audiences. Developed in partnership with Sabinet, the materials have been sourced from African libraries. Despite their broad cultural and historical value, the magazines exist in just a few physical locations and have not been digitized before. Much of the content was created by a new generation of Black journalists, writers and artists. The magazines were hugely popular, and were packed with investigative journalism, photography, fiction, reviews, biographies, fashion, lifestyle, advertisements, and more. Many of them were syndicated across the continent and contained content specifically developed for the African English-speaking world, so they provide a view of Black society across all of Africa. The database has been developed in collaboration with Sabinet, a leading publisher of African materials for libraries, with digitization taking place in Africa. Includes: Drum Magazine, 1951-1973 -- Zonk!, 1953-1964 -- Zonk! Film-Pic Photo Stories, 1963 -- Contrast: South African Literary Journal, 1960-1973 -- Hi-Note!, 1954-1957 -- Grace Magazine, 1964-1966 -- The Townships Housewife, 1968.

Africa's historical newspapers provides full-text access to historical newspapers from Africa. Includes African Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1800-1925 as well as African newspapers--The British Library Collection, 1821-1900, offering coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items. Also included is the Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985 -- a 20th century newspaper containing unique perspectives on South Africa and the African continent, with deep coverage of the era of apartheid.

Posting over 700 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as a 400.000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997).

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including Wall Street Journal, local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.

Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.

"One of South Africa's most prominent newspapers, the Sowetan was launched as a response to apartheid conditions in Soweto and other segregated communities. Impassioned editorials, engaging political columns and firsthand reporting soon helped The Sowetan become the country's most widely circulated black paper"--Publisher's description (NewsBank). Includes digitized versions of the print Sowetan, as well as content from the online version SowetanLIVE

South Africa’s largest Sunday newspaper includes firsthand reporting, photographs, editorials, cartoons and more, the Sunday Times, according to the publisher's description, has "recorded every major historical event of the 20th century." Coverage spans 1907-preent.