HIST 3788: Gender, Sexuality, and Power in African History

Collects thoroughly researched articles covering major aspects of African history. Each article begins with a summary and keywords, and all articles include a helpful list of suggested Further Reading, as well as citations of works cited.

Compiled by eminent Africanist film scholar Roy Armes, Dictionary of African Filmmakers is an inclusive, comprehensive treatment of films and filmmaking on the African continent. The dictionary covers African feature filmmaking from the first locally produced films to today's thriving film industry, listing 5,415 films made by 1,253 filmmakers in 37 countries. Part 1 includes information on filmmakers and provides date and place of birth, training or film experience, other creative activities, and a list of feature films produced. Part 2 presents a national chronology, filmography, and bibliography for each country producing feature films. Part 3 indexes film titles and provides translations into English or French.

Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent. This comprehensive three volume Encyclopedia is the first reference of this scale and scope. Also includes 99 maps.

The Handbook has three main divisions: historical and cultural foundations; philosophical and conceptual basis; and critical and analytical concepts. Each division contains chapters that address key themes in African American and African Diaspora Studies.You can browse essays via the table of contents, through a full text search box, or via the Subject Index.

Provides definitions of key terms in African politics, covering elections, parties, judiciaries, popular protest, gender relations, the politics of development, and Africa's international relations as well as major events and figures within African Politics. Entries range from Afrocentrism and the Bandung Conference to 'Rhodes must fall' and Sino-African relations and include key terms of particular relevance to Africa such as neopatrimonialism, queue voting, and post-conflict power-sharing. Entries also address political language used in Africa, including a range of vernacular terms that are essential for a deep understanding of local political realities.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Historiography: Methods and Sources examines how developments and changes in historical research methods have influenced the scholarship that historians produce, with an aim to build a theoretical foundation for the field, expanding the ways that Africa can be studied, and recovering the histories of the continent that often appear outside of the documentary record.

Brings together knowledge, scholarship, and debates on themes and issues concerning African women everywhere. It reviews and evaluates African women's historical, cultural, social, political, economic, religious, private, local, and global lives and activities. Contributors offer a consistent emphasis on debunking erroneous and misleading myths about African women's roles and positions, bringing their previously marginalized stories to relief, and ultimately re-writing their histories. This reference work includes, to the greatest extent possible, the voices of African women themselves as writers of their own stories.

Images and stories about African sexuality abound in today's globalized media. Frequently old stereotypes and popular opinion inform these stories, and sex in the media is predominately approached as a problem in need of solutions and intervention. The authors gathered here refuse an easy characterization of African sexuality and instead seek to understand the various erotic realities, sexual practices, and gendered changes taking place across the continent. They present a nuanced and comprehensive overview of the field of sex and sexuality in Africa to serve as a guide though the quickly expanding literature. This collection offers a set of texts that use sexuality as a prism for studying how communities coalesce against the canvas of larger political and economic contexts and how personal lives evolve therein. Scholars working in Africa, the U.S., and Europe reflect on issues of representation, health and bio-politics, same-sex relationships and identity, transactional economies of sex, religion and tradition, and the importance of pleasure and agency. This multidimensional reader provides a comprehensive view of sexuality from an African perspective.

Consists of a Yoruba to English dictionary, as well as an English to Yoruba dictionary, along with a section on Yoruba phonology and grammar, as well as a thematically organized phrasebook.